ICAN to Recognise Obasanjo, Ambode, Others

obasanjoOlusegun Obasanjo
  • ICAN to Recognise Obasanjo, Ambode, Others

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo and Governor Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos State are among the eminent personalities that will be honoured with the 2017 Merit Award of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria on Friday in Lagos.

According to a statement by the institute on Sunday, Obasanjo is the sole winner of the award in the non-members’ category, while Ambode, Prof. Rufus Akintoye of Babcock University, Prof. Isa Dandago of Bayero University and Dr. Peter Obadan, a former deputy governor of Edo State, will receive the award in the members’ category

The institute listed Bank of Industry, PriceWaterHouseCoopers and the Federal Inland Revenue Services as winners of the 2017 Merit Award in the corporate body category.

“These distinguished Nigerians and organisations will be honoured for their immense contributions to the development of the accountancy profession, ICAN and the nation at the 2017 Annual Dinner and Awards of the institute scheduled for April 28 in Lagos, “ the statement read.

Obasanjo is expected to also deliver a keynote address at the occasion

Established by the Act of Parliament Number 15 of 1965, ICAN is a founding member of the International Federation of Accountants, Pan African Federation of Accountants and the Association of Accountancy Bodies in West Africa.

The institute is empowered to set standards of knowledge and skills to be attained by persons seeking to become members of the accountancy profession in Nigeria.

About the Author

Samed Olukoya
CEO/Founder Investors King Ltd, a foreign exchange research analyst, contributing author on New York-based Talk Markets and Investing.com, with over a decade long experience in the global financial market. Contact Samed on Twitter: @sameolukoya; Email: [email protected]

Be the first to comment on "ICAN to Recognise Obasanjo, Ambode, Others"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.