FG Splits NIPOST Into 6 Business Units

  • FG Splits NIPOST Into 6 Business Units

The Federal Government on Monday split the Nigeria Postal Service, NIPOST, into six business unites and seven zones.

According to the statement released by NIPOST spokesperson, Frank Alao, the postmaster-general, Bisi Adegbuyi on Monday approved the unbundling of NIPOST across the 36 states of the federation and the federal capital territory (FCT).

Alao said the aim of the unbundling was to attain competitiveness and value for service, increase operational efficiency and enhance the agency’s revenue-generating capacity.

The directive will see the states captured into zones and manned by zonal managers who will report directly to the PMG.

According to the statement, the zonal arrangement is aimed at entrenching the principle of delegation and devolution of powers.

The reform will also quicken decision-making process particularly in key operations areas like mail routes delineation, deliveries and postal enquiries, added the statement.

“The new CBUs are significantly existing ventures/services either merged and or strengthened for the purposes of enhancing their service delivery capacities/ competitiveness in consistent with industry global best practices as well as improving on their revenue profiles,” it said.

About the Author

Samed Olukoya
Samed Olukoya is the CEO/Founder of investorsking.com, a digital business media, with over 10 years' experience as a foreign exchange research analyst and trader. A graduate of University of East London, U.K. and a vivid financial markets analyst.

Be the first to comment on "FG Splits NIPOST Into 6 Business Units"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.